Me Me Media

Oh no! I’ve fallen behind in self-promotional blogging! If you missed last week’s episode of Free Will, I talked with Jeremy Lott about his new book The Warm Bucket Brigade: The Story of the American Vice-Presidency. This week, I chat with the estimable Kerry Howley about Obama, patriotism, and prostitution, among other things.

This morning on Marketplace, I argued that it’s misguided to blame the last Fed chief, or this one, for our woes:

The problem here isn’t that the guy in charge isn’t smart enough. The problem is that there’s a guy in charge at all. We’ve put a central planner at the beating heart of our market system, but we’ve known for decades that central planners rarely have the information they need, or the incentive to use it correctly.

If it all goes wrong for Bernanke, just remember: the problem isn’t the quarterback. It’s the rules of the game.

I’m off to the heart of the heartland for a few days, so blogging may or may not be light.

