Waking Up Canadian

I will be next week. In Ottawa!

19 thoughts on “Waking Up Canadian

  1. I get to be Canadian, too, on April 17 (Thanks Momma!), but it seems like some anti-Kafkaesque nightmare if I go to sleep as that guy, and wake up as the same guy, just with more moose memorabilia.

  2. If it makes you feel any better, I can't imagine that a lot of your tax dollars paid for that.

  3. Here is the text of the Canadian Oath of Citizenship:”Oath of CitizenshipI swear (or affirm) that I will be faithfuland bear true allegiance to Her MajestyQueen Elizabeth the Second, Queen of Canada,Her Heirs and Successors, and that I will faithfullyobserve the laws of Canadaand fulfil my duties as a Canadian citizen.”Are they serious? You have to swear allegiance to Queen Elizabeth?

  4. Yeah. Also, watching that I really notice the dearth of non-stereotypical symbolism in Canada. The US has eagles, the flag, very pretty founding documents, and a host of prominent looking buildings.Canada has…maple leaves and maple syrup. And the peace tower I guess. And 1/20th of a Queen. I say this as someone living in Canada for some time now.

  5. You are such a citizen of the world. You didn't go into a lot of detail as to why you would do this, care to explain?

  6. I really don't want to wake up with a vagina. This is the ultimate nightmare that I have never had and don't ever want to have.

  7. “Everything you wanted to know about Canada, but were afraid to ask”

    From Rick Mercer, Canada's Jon Stewart

  8. Great. Just what Canada needs… more deracinated foreign dross with zero connection to the country. “watching that I really notice the dearth of non-stereotypical symbolism in Canada” Sir, in case you didn't see, the mountie was black. It doesn't get much more non-stereotypical than that, does it? Brennan, What's your objection to swearing an oath to the Queen? Is it garden variety libertarian antinomianism or a particvualrly Irish Anglophobia?

  9. Fred, why do you assume that all of us have no connection to the country? My grandma and cousins still live there, and I visit at least once a year. I know the streets, the cafes, the museums, and all of the bridge-playing senior citizens in my bubbe's neighborhood. I will concede that becoming a citizen is not necessary for many practical purposes, but I feel affinity for a country that's been part of my life, for as long as I can remember. So, why not? Anyway, if you want to move to the U.S., I say welcome, to you and most everyone else.

  10. Adina, I didn't say “all of [you]” would have no connection to the country. Given the fact that Canada has extraordinarily lax req'ts for citizenship already, and given the tendency of emigrants to retain their citiizenship long after having left the country for good, this reform must necessarily scoop up a great many people who have no connection to Canada. There are additional problems, of course: the fact that citizenship entitles these “new Canadians” to a plethora of welfare state goodies that they haven't paid into, the fact that these people have citizenship as a matter of right and thus won't be vetted (criminal record checks, disease testing, etc.) like garden-variety immigrants, etc. “Anyway, if you want to move to the U.S., I say welcome, to you and most everyone else.” Funnily enough, I am in an analogous position to WW. My mother was born in the States. I used to visit relatives and friends just across the border on a fairly regular basis. I certainly wouldn't be averse to having the permission to live and work in the US – by all means, write your Congressman on my behalf. I would say, though, that if everyone who wanted to move to the States were permitted to, it would very swiftly become a place in which no one wanted to live.

  11. hi guys please help me to obtain visa for canada , just for visit and may nationality is comoros island, kindly send me e-mail if you any one able to assist me in this case my e-mail : strongstar-mhz@hotmail.comthnx in advance brgds, nadjim

  12. hi guys please help me to obtain visa for canada , just for visit and may nationality is comoros island, kindly send me e-mail if you any one able to assist me in this case my e-mail : strongstar-mhz@hotmail.comthnx in advance brgds, nadjim

Comments are closed.