Soros vs. Koch

I spent today reading The Soros Lectures by George Soros and The Science of Success by Charles G. Koch. I now know everything necessary to become insanely wealthy. Or at least to write a Big Think blog post comparing and contrasting the surprisingly similar philosophies of America’s most maligned philanthropists. The point of this post is to pressure myself to actually write about this so that in the off chance market-based management and the principle of reflexivity don’t soon make me one of the world’s wealthiest men, my day wasn’t a waste.

2 thoughts on “Soros vs. Koch

  1. do the differences seem likely to explain why no conservative mobs have ever tried to storm a soros event or trap attendees?

  2. I look forward to reading this. I haven’t read The Soros Lectures, but I did read the Science of Success a few years ago before anyone actually knew who the Charles Koch was. I did watch the panel discussion Soros participated in earlier this year, and I got the impression that he’s far from some sort of progressive ideologue.

    When I was reading Science of Success I at times felt like I was being inoculated into some sort of free-market cult. I mean, being of libertarian(ish) sensibilities I actually agree with a lot of what Koch says in the book, but it felt like Science of Success was meant to be less a book on management, and more a treatise on how one should live their life. This article about Ray Dalio, the hedgefund manager, suggests he has similar thing going on: http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2011/07/25/110725fa_fact_cassidy

Comments are closed.